River Bank

River Bank


Banks/Credit Unions

About Us

River Bank formed on June 30, 1991 when three banks located along the Mississippi River in Stoddard, Ferryville and DeSoto merged together. Since then, the bank opened various locations in the Coulee Region including La Crosse, Holmen, Sparta, and Tomah.

River Bank’s primary mission is to serve the banking needs of Crawford, Vernon, Monroe, La Crosse and Trempealeau Counties. Prior to the formation of River Bank, the original banks had the reputation of being the banks that were friendly, understood their customers' needs and would go the extra distance for service. This continues to be the hallmark of River Bank.

On January 2nd, 2020 River Bank announced the merger of Union Bank of Sparta with the conversion finalizing on May 4th. As Union Bank was owned by River Holding Company for the past three years, this provided a great opportunity for our two banks to share their common commitment of meeting the financial needs of the communities we serve. River Bank charted the path of steady growth for several years and are proud to provide convenient locations to serve your financial needs.